The FIA World Rallycross in SA cancelled for 2020, that’s the news coming through today from the series organisers. The FIA and IMG took the decision to cancel the 2020 edition of World Rallycross of South Africa.

Follow Double Apex on Instagram and Facebook where we share more car content.

Killarney International Raceway in Cape Town has played host to the season finale of the series for three years. A truncated calendar (see bottom of post) will not include a leg on African soil in 2020. The series organisers have confirmed that South Africa will be included in the 2021 championship.

Check out our exclusive images taken at the 2019 FIA World Rallycross event in these two galleries: Part One and Part Two.

In their own words

“At this stage, the threat of Covid-19 is still very serious and as such, the timelines for when mass participation events will be allowed to resume is still unclear. It is our responsibility to safeguard the health and safety of participants, spectators as well as officials working in the events hosted in our beautiful city,” says mayoral committee member for safety and security JP Smith. “As the City of Cape Town, we remain fully committed to welcome back this exciting form of motor racing back to our shores in 2021.”

Bruce Parker-Forsyth, CEO of WorldSport South Africa promoter of the World Rallycross of South Africa: “We believe the postponement of the Cape Town race is in the best interests of the health of all stakeholders, participants and spectators – their wellbeing remains our top priority. Though we’re disappointed that we won’t be able to enjoy the excitement up close this year we’ll soon announce new and exciting changes to ensure 2021 offers a better and more spectator-friendly race weekend.”

The revised 2020 FIA World Rallycross calendar

  • Sweden | 20 – 23 August
  • France | 04 – 06 September
  • Riga-Latvia | 18 -20 September
  • Benelux | 2 – 4 October
  • Portugal | 9 – 11 October
  • Barcelona-Catalunya |16 – 18 October
  • Abu Dhabi | 29 – 21 October
  • Germany |11 – 13 December

Catch all the action from the dramatic 2019 final in the video below: