Former Ferrari Formula 1 pilot Felipe Mass is making his way to Formula E (f*** that’s a lot of Fs).

Hinted at in Spain

Massa was interviewed by F1 TV commentator, Martin Brundle, at last weekend’s Spanish Grand Prix. When asked if he’s planning a return to competition Massa hinted that he’s looking into Formula E.

If you’d like to learn more about the series click this link.

Just this week the Brazilian signed a three-year deal to drive for the Venturi team. At the event he said:

“I’m very happy to be joining the Venturi Formula E Team and the Formula E championship, which has become a magnificent competition in such a short space of time. For some years now, I’ve been clear about my interest in this innovative, forward-looking discipline that’s developing exponentially. I especially like the format of race meetings, the city-centre circuits and the contact with the fans. I can’t wait to take part in testing at the end of the month.”

Massa will be competing in the striking new, Gen2 Formula E single-seater as seen in the images above

Joining his counterparts

The 11-time F1 winner joins several other former Formula One pilots who have made Formula E their happy hunting ground.

The current field includes Lucas di Grassi, Sebastien Buemi, Nelson Piquet, Nick Heidfeld, Kamui Kobayashi, Jean-Eric Vergne, and Jerome d’Ambrosio.

Read our review of the first quarter of the 2018 season by clicking here. 

With several manufacturers already involved, and a few more set to join the ranks (including Mercedes and Porsche) perhaps we’ll see more F1 drivers make the transition to the all-electric series.

Accomplished pilot

Massa is an accomplished driver, having won the Formula 3000 championship before moving to F1. In the top class he raced for Sauber before joining Scuderia Ferrari as a test driver in 2003. He partnered Michael Schumacher, Kimi Raikkonen and Fernando Alonso at Ferrari before moving to Williams.

During his F1 career, the Brazilian managed a 269 starts, 41 podiums and 11 wins whilst driving for Sauber (2002, 2004–2005), Ferrari (2006–2013), Williams (2014–2017).