2021 Dakar Stage 12 was the final leg of the 43rd edition of the world’s longest off-road race. The route from Yanbu to the finish line in Jeddah consisted of a 200 km timed section that included several large dunes. Read our stage eleven report at this link

Follow Double Apex on Instagram and Facebook where we share more car content.

There must have been some nervous crews at the start line of 2021 Dakar stage 12. Having come this far the teams know all too well that anything can still go wrong on the final day; an error in navigation or a mechanical issue could cost any of the frontrunners precious time.

Race leader Stephane Peterhansel (Mini) had a comfortable lead going into the final day. He was over a quarter of an hour head of Nasser Al-Attiyah (Toyota). Peterhansel’s teammate Carlos Sainz, who is also the defending champion, lost time early in the event that he just could not make up against the race leaders. Sainz showed that he had the pace to challenge by winning the final leg of the 2021 race. Qatari Al-Attiyah gave it one final push but could only gain one minute on Peterhansel, who finished third on the day.

When the timesheets were all handed in it was Peterhansel who was crowned winner of the 2021 Dakar Rally. This win is the Frenchman’s 14th overall, the last eight of which were in the car category. His first win was in 1991 on two wheels. The top South African driver was Giniel de Villiers who finished 8th overall.

General classification after 2021 Dakar Stage 12

  1. Stephane Peterhansel Mini 44 hours 27 min 11 sec
  2. Nasser Al-Attiyah Toyota +14 min 51 sec
  3. Carlos Sainz Mini +1 hour 01 min 57 sec
  4. Jakub Przygonski Toyota +2 hour 36 min 03 sec
  5. Nani Roma BRX +3 hours 22 min 48 sec
  6. Sheik Khalid Al Qassimi Peugeot +3 hours 29 min 31 sec
  7. Vladimir Vasilyev Mini +3 hours 29 min 38 sec
  8. Giniel de Villier Toyota+3 hours 58 min 39 sec
  9. Martin Prokop Ford +4 hours 10 min 21 sec
  10. Cyril Despres Peugeot+4 hours 50 min 09 sec