2021 Dakar stage 10 moved away from the ocean that provided a spectacular back-drop to stage nine (read our stage 9 report here) and back into the mountains. The total distance of the stage from Neom to Al-Ula was a 583 km long, 342 km of which was the timed section. Competitors had to deal with rocky tracks in the canyons before a fast sandy sections towards the finish.

Follow Double Apex on Facebook and Instagram, where we share more car content.

The early part of 2021 Dakar stage 10 was dominated by Saudi drivers Yasir Seaidan and Yazeed Al-Rajhi. The locals set a pace that few could match. Race contenders Nasser Al-Attiyah and Stephane Peterhansel were close in their respective time at each checkpoint. Defending champion Carlos Sainz lost more time to his rivals as he stopped more than once on the timed section. South Africans Giniel de Villiers and Brian Baragwanath both ran well today, setting a good pace that was not far off the stage leaders.

When all the frontrunners crossed the line it was Al-Rajhi who was the quickest. The Saudi driver was untouchable as he took charge at the 90-km mark and held on for his second stage win of the 2021 Dakar Rally. Al-Attiyah was second ahead of Peterhansel with Sainz and De Villiers rounding off the top five on the day.

Try as he may Al-Attiyah could not real make a significant dent in Peterhansel’s lead at the top of the overall standings. The Qatari did managed to gain 49 seconds but the Frenchman still holds onto decent cushion going into the final two days of the 2021 race.

General classification after 2021 Dakar Stage 10

  1. Stephane Peterhansel Mini 37 hours 33 min 06 sec
  2. Nasser Al-Attiyah Toyota +17 min 01 sec
  3. Carlos Sainz Mini +1 hour 03 min 44 sec
  4. Jakub Przygonski Toyota +2 hour 18 min 43 sec
  5. Nani Roma BRX +2 hours 50 min 22 sec
  6. Sheik Khalid Al Qassimi Peugeot +3 hours 13 min 14 sec
  7. Vladimir Vasilyev Mini +3 hours 14 min 56 sec
  8. Giniel de Villier Toyota+3 hours 43 min 28 sec
  9. Martin Prokop Ford +3 hours 45 min 46 sec
  10. Benediktas Vanagas Toyota+4 hours 37 min 13 sec