The 2020 Toyota Gazoo Racing Dakar team was announced earlier today. The works team features four crews consisting of Nasser Al-Attiyah and navigator Mathieu Baumel; Giniel de Villiers and navigator Alex Haro; Bernhard Ten Brinke and navigator Tom Colsoul and Fernando Alonso joined by navigator Marc Coma. Toyota Gazoo Racing South Africa achieved Toyota’s first overall victory earlier this year with Nasser and Mathieu.

The 2020 Dakar Rally will be contested entirely in Saudi Arabia, with the rally starting on January 5, 2020 in the western city of Jeddah. The race will enjoy its traditional rest day in the capital city of Riyadh. The second half of the 2020 Dakar Rally traverses the “Empty Quarter”, the world’s largest continuous sand desert, before finishing in the city of Al-Qiddiya on January 17.

Check out this cool SA-born 1972 Toyota Hilux drift truck.


All four crews will compete in the latest version of the Toyota Hilux, built and developed in South Africa. The Hilux features independent suspension, midship engine positioning and all-wheel drive. It is powered by a 5,0-litre naturally aspirated V8 engine that is sited just behind the front wheels, between and slightly below the crew.

Check out the Toyota GR hypercar that will compete at the 24 Hours of Le Mans.

All-star cast

Nasser and Mathieu will be looking to defend their Dakar Rally title to add to their impressive list of achievements, including multiple FIA World Cup titles for cross country rallies and Dakar Rally victories.

De Villiers is another experienced campaigner with the 2009 Dakar Rally victory to his name and four Rally of Morocco crowns, the latest coming earlier this month with his new navigator Alex Haro.

Bernhard, also a former winner in Morocco, is reunited with Tom, who hails from a rally dynasty and has been competing across different rally disciplines over the years with multiple successes in the truck category.

Fernando, two-time Le Mans 24 Hours winner, reigning FIA World Endurance Championship titleholder, two-time Formula 1 World Champion, and winner of the 24 Hours of Daytona, will drive Toyota’s fourth entry in the 2020 Dakar Rally.

Catch 2020 Toyota Dakar team member Fernando Alonso testing his new race steed below.