It was recently announced that the 2020 F1 calendar expands to 17 races. The current season has been in a state of flux as series organisers have to be flexible in light of international travel restrictions

Follow Double Apex on Instagram and Facebook where we share more car content.

Order from our online store and take advantage of free delivery in South Africa on orders over R349.

Double Apex T-shirts

Old favourite

The most recent additions to the 2020 campaign come in just a few days after three new races brought the list up to 13. F1 will return to Turkey after a break of nearly ten years. The Turkish Grand Prix will be run on November 15. Back-to-back races will take place in Bahrain, with the Bahrain Grand Prix on November 29 followed by the Sakhir Grand Prix on December 6. The season ending Abu Dhabi Grand Prix will take place at the Yas Marina Circuit on December 13.

Click here to watch some highlights from previous Turkish F1 races.

In their own words

A statement from Formula 1 said: “We can confirm that Turkey, Bahrain (hosting two races), and Abu Dhabi will be part of the revised season and want to express our thanks to the hard work of all our promoters and partners in making this 17-race season possible. Sadly, we will not be racing in China this season and want to thank our partner Juss Sports for their support and engagement in recent months and hugely look forward to returning to Shanghai next year.”

Click here to read about the differences between MotoGP and Formula One pilots.

Chase Carey, Chairman and CEO of Formula 1, added: “We are proud to announce that Turkey, Bahrain and Abu Dhabi will be part of our 2020 season. This year has presented Formula 1 and the world with an unprecedented challenge and we want to pay tribute to everyone across Formula 1, the FIA, the teams, and our partners who have made this possible.”

“While we are all disappointed that we have not been able to return to some of our planned races this year we are confident our season has started well and will continue to deliver plenty of excitement with traditional, as well as new, races that will entertain all our fans.”


Round                      Race                                          Venue                                     Date

Round 1               Austrian Grand Prix                        Red Bull Ring                              July 3-5

Round 2               Styrian Grand Prix                           Red Bull Ring                              July 10-12

Round 3               Hungarian Grand Prix                     Hungaroring                               July 17-19

Round 4               British Grand Prix                            Silverstone                                 July 31 – August 2

Round 5               British Grand Prix                            Silverstone                                 August 7-9

Round 6               Spanish Grand Prix                          Barcelona-Catalunya               August 14-16

Round 7               Belgian Grand Prix                          Spa-Francorchamps                 August 28-30

Round 8               Italian Grand Prix                            Monza                                         September 4-6

Round 9               Tuscan Grand Prix                           Mugello                                      September 11-13

Round 10            Russian Grand Prix                          Sochi                                            September 25-27

Round 11            Eifel Grand Prix                               Nurburgring                               October 9-11

Round 12            Portuguese Grand Prix                   Portimao                                    October 23-25

Round 13            Emilia Romagna Grand Prix          Imola                                           Oct 31 – Nov 1

Round 14            Turkish Grand Prix                         Istanbul                                        November 13-15

Round 15            Bahrain Grand Prix                         Bahrain                                        November 27-29

Round 16            Sakhir Grand Prix                         Bahrain                                           December 4-6

Round 17            Abu Dhabi Grand Prix                    Yas Marina                                   December 11-13